2012… An Election To Remember

I do not use media for political information.  I don’t use the media because I find that finding a media source I can trust can be tricky.  When virtually anyone can write a “factual” blog post about the upcoming 2012 election so it is difficult to find out what media source I can trust, who I side with and who I should be politically loyal to.  I find that I veer away from finding out more about politics and the upcoming election because of the fact that I don’t know what source it is that I can trust.  Being that it is my first election I can vote in I weigh this decision heavily in my mind.

Though there is no such thing as an unbiased media source I still have no idea how I can find one that will match my views… or even to tell me all of the facts without highlighting certain points and dis-regarding others.  I find that all I really get is negative facts and opinions about candidates.  Which leads me to chose who I vote for by one simple idea:  Which person is less awful?  Who is the best of the worst?

I am stuck in a perpetual cycle of thought:  I need to vote, I need to be an informed voter, how do I become informed, can I trust a particular source and how then can I tell if that decision is right for me.  I think that is where my generation is floundering because we new voters don’t know how to sort through the negative and over stated views abut the candidates.  Overall I believe we new voters need a clear source that states facts, all the facts.  We need live news broadcasting not short memos because we are the voice of the future and we need facts not opinions.

 

 

Leave a Reply

